Adult Services

Career Passioneering

Saturday, May 27 9:30–11:30 a.m. Make a move and find your passion! Bring an open mind and begin the destiny of your own design. Registration is required. [...]

Mystery Readers

Thursday, June 15 7:30–8:45 p.m. Join Lesley Cyrier for a discussion of Taylor Stevens' The Informationist: A Thriller. Visit the first floor Service Desk to pick up a copy of the book. Registration is not required. [...]

Read-Alikes: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Nicola Yoon's 2015 debut novel, Everything, Everything, is coming to the big screen this week. While the story of a teenage girl with an illness that confines her to her home and her risky romance with the boy next door sounds familiar, the narrative, told through vignettes, emails, diary entries, and illustrations, offers elements of… [...]

VPPL Mini-Library

Thursday, May 25 3–4 p.m. Special Location: Jefferson Middle School (255 W. Vermont St., Villa Park) In partnership with School District 45 and Jefferson Middle School, the VPPL mini-library at Jefferson Middle School will be open. Apply for a library card, check out materials, or stop by and make a craft! [...]

eBay: The Basics

Tuesday, May 23 6–7:30 p.m. Deposit $10 Ages 14 and up Don’t know where to start? Learn the basics of bidding, buying, and selling items on eBay. Basic computer skills required. Registration is required. [...]

Poetry Workshop

Monday, May 22 6–8:30 p.m.  Calling all poets! Bring ten copies of one or two of your own poems to read and discuss. Registration is not required. Presented by the Friends of the Villa Park Library.  [...]

Sunday Movie Matinee

Sunday, May 21 1:30 p.m. Join the Friends of the Villa Park Library for a screening of The Martian (© 20th Century Fox, 2015: PG-13, 144 minutes). Refreshments are served and a discussion usually follows the film. Registration is not required. [...]

Friends of the Library Book Sale

Thursday, May 18 • 7p.m. - 8:30p.m. (Friends Preview Sale) Join at the door! Friday, May 19 • 9 a.m.–4:30 p.m. Saturday, May 20 • 9 a.m.–2 p.m. Join us for our spring sale which will include hundreds of books (fiction and non-fiction), as well as DVDs, audiobooks, and CDs. Many are donations and in very… [...]

Books Worth Talking About

Thursday, June 8 7:30–8:45 p.m. Join Michelle Hoffmann for a discussion of Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race. Visit the first floor service desk to pick up a copy of the book. Registration is not required. [...]